What is the Occupational English Test

OET is an English language test that assesses the language and communication skills of healthcare professionals who seek to register and practice in an English-speaking environment. It provides a valid and reliable assessment of all four language skills – listening, reading, writing and speaking with an emphasis on communication in healthcare settings.

OET tests health professionals from the following
12 professions:
  • Dentistry
  • Dietetics
  • Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Optometry
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Pharmacy
  • Physiotherapy
  • Podiatry
  • Radiography
  • Speech Pathology
  • Veterinary Science
Bnefits of OET

OET can help to ensure that the English language skills of healthcare professionals are at the right level to work in the healthcare sector.

  • Regulatory authorities, registration boards and councils can ensure that internationally trained healthcare professionals have appropriate standards of English, specific to the healthcare sector. This is key to guaranteeing patient safety and well-being.
  • Hospitals and other healthcare employers can ensure that their employees (doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals) have the necessary English language communication skills for delivering quality healthcare.
  • Education institutions can ensure that graduating students have employment-ready or registration-ready language skills by including OET preparation and testing in their courses.
Other benefits of OET:
  • Gives confidence in the language competence of practicing healthcare professionals
  • Optimizes communication with patients, carers and colleagues, in turn improving the quality of care
  • Establishes a fair way to select internationally trained health professionals.
  • Attracts candidates committed to excellence and professionalism.
Who recognises OET?

OET is recognized and trusted by regulatory healthcare boards and councils in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. Many organizations, including hospitals, universities and colleges, are using OET as proof of a candidate’s ability to communicate effectively in a demanding healthcare environment.

Reporting results

There are many aspects to being able to communicate in a language effectively. OET therefore has four sub-tests – Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking – to acknowledge that these involve different sub-skills and strategies. Candidates receive a separate grade for each sub-test, ranging from A (highest) to E (lowest). There is no overall grade for OET.

Course Duration:
Programs Hours
OET 30